PDA

View Full Version : DIY Hardwood Flooring

Chip Byrd
08-15-2013, 9:39 AM
Hello,

My wife and I want to put down some hardwood flooring. The section is only about 190 sq ft. I am thinking about milling the boards and cutting the tongue and groove on my router table. If it was much more (size wise), I wouldn't consider it.

We would like to do some things with various species of wood that would be cost prohibitive if we hire someone

I am a hobbiest woodworker and not a pro, but believe I have the skills and tools necessary. Have any of you gents done this. Would you advise for or against? Any advice if I move forward?

Thanks for the help,
Chip

Mike Hollingsworth
08-15-2013, 11:23 AM
I say go for it!
perfect project to learn a lot.
The ends will be the hard part.

Pat Barry
08-15-2013, 1:09 PM
This is an interesting idea but what is the proper way to go about doing this assuming you have the materials and the tools? For example, I would think that you would first mill all the material to finished thickness and desired widths and true up the faces. Then what? Cut the ends where the planer snipe would affect the dimension and cross-cut everything nice and square. Then proceed to cut the tongues followed by the grooves, or vice versa? Are you planning to nail these down or create a floating floor? Would you pre-finish the parts or put it all together, sand it flat, then finish it. Lots of decisions to make with this project but for the description you provided handmade seems the way to go for sure so its worth the effort.

Gus Dundon
08-15-2013, 5:17 PM
You can do it. You said already that you have the right tools and skills. Goodluck! You can search some DIY tips/techniques. That could help.

James Conrad
08-15-2013, 8:16 PM