PDA

View Full Version : paint setup

Jeremy Marcoe
08-14-2013, 4:34 AM
Hi guys I am new here. I was referred to this site by a friend who contributes to the site. Just to give a little background
I am from the Upper Penninsula of Michigan. I am a Journeyman Electrician by trade and play a lot of guitar. I decided not to long ago that its time I built my own. So... I have some very good friends who work in the woods for a living and are supplying me with some of their best Ash and Maple. Another friend of mine does the saw work. So it seems to be working out pretty good as far as the materials go. My main question is in setting up a place to spray what I build. How big of a spray booth or room would be adequate to do this, and how big of an exhaust fan is enough to do it? I would imagine there are filters on the outside to catch any overspray going through the exhaust. Any examples that you could point to would be extremely helpful.

Thanks

Jeremy

george wilson
08-15-2013, 1:06 PM
Welcome to the Forum,Jeremy. Grizzly sells a few spray booths which you might want to look at. Get their catalog. These are not very cheap. I guess not many of them are made. What you need first is a good exhaust fan with an explosion proof motor. I had a spray booth at work,but don't have the space for 1 in my large-but-too-much-stuff home shop. Therefore,I have to resort to spraying outside. Be sure you keep upwind. I got a kidney infection in the 60's from breathing too much lacquer. Use a proper mask,too.

Larry Fox
08-15-2013, 3:07 PM