PDA

View Full Version : What materials can you actually take advantage of the full speed trotec lasers offer?

Ben Dalton
08-14-2013, 12:26 AM
Our company is about to pull the trigger on a new laser machine and I have one more question for the forum. While the Epilog and GCC machines tout about the same max head speed (about 80 ips), the trotec machines can go an incredible 140 ips... I have about 10 yrs experience working with lasers, so I know the material you're using, the max watts your machine outputs, along with max head speed all effect how fast the head can actually travel and still give good results. My company started as a monument company that has expanded to do all sorts of engraving including on granite, wood, coated and anodized metals, acrylics, and plastics. So my question is assuming I will buy an 80 watt laser from either Epilog, GCC or Trotec, what materials can actually be rastered at trotec's 140 ips and still turn out good results? Although we do all the aforementioned materials, granite and wood are our two biggest selling materials (rastering pictures and photos), so those materials matter the most to us. I want to know if spending the extra money for the trotec machine will be worth it as far as output time is concerned, or if we'd just be turning down the speed closer to the other brands to get the same results. Any help answering these questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks to all.

Rodne Gold
08-14-2013, 3:26 AM
You need to send each company a file , specifiying DPI etc and then get the time it takes to do this with apples being apples - ie the same settings on each machine.. if you are concerned with thruput then select the fastest.. bearing in mind that quality is also an issue. What you can do will depend on wattage , 25w at 100% power and 100% speed might not mark the way you want , 75w might.