PDA

View Full Version : Varnish for Hickory for bathroom vanity bottom

Keith Kelly
08-13-2013, 12:44 PM
I'm new to the world of finishing, and have been watching many Wood Whisperer videos to get a grasp of some of the various types & techniques, but I still feel a bit uncertain about a rather simple project and would love some advice.

What I'm trying to seal/finish:
10 hickory boards that I've cut down to approx 22" x 3".
They will be spaced approx 1/2" apart when mounted.
See pics at bottom of post.

End result:
* Not colored any/much. I'd like this to stay pretty natural Hickory color. There is little/no "character" in this hickory (few dark spots) but the grain is very very nice and I'd like to emphasize it if possible.
* If all I achieve is some depth (but maintain a similar color) I'd be thrilled.
* Tolerant to humidity
* Tolerant to minor things being set/dragged on it, like things people keep under an exposed bathroom sink

What I have on hand:
* Poly, polycrylic, lacquer
* Dewaxed shellac (Bulls Eye SealCoat)
* Various oils (linseed, mineral, etc)
* Solvents like denatured alcohol, mineral spirits, etc.
(I've recently purchased the above things after watching some of Marc's videos, and I list them so you have an idea of what I have to work with and mix. If there's something else you think I should have on hand, feel free to tell me. I have a lot of upcoming projects and my primary area of learning will be around the finishing processes)

From way back when, before painting: This is before I ventured into woodworking. Don't judge.

The vanity as it is right now (and has been for months!).

Hickory boards cut, routed, fitted, tweaked, and ready to sand/finish:

They will be spaced 1/2" apart when mounted.

Jim Becker
08-13-2013, 5:00 PM