PDA

View Full Version : Pine plywood - it's cheap, but is it much worse than, say, birch ply?

Florin Andrei
08-13-2013, 1:38 AM
I'm making a machine for grinding optical components. The material is 3/4" plywood. There will also be a 1/4 HP motor in it, various moving parts, pulleys, belts, etc. The design is not mine, many such machines have been built and work well. The end result will be a rectangular box just about as big and as heavy as to be comfortably carried by two people (or by one big and strong guy).

I'll use butted joints, with wood screws and epoxy. No fancy techniques, I'm just an amateur.

Now, I'm trying to reduce the cost. I did some (smaller) things before, using baltic birch ply, and it was awesome. Super smooth, solid, kinda heavy but strong and durable. Loved it. But that stuff is expensive.

I went today to a local shop and noticed big sheets of 3/4" pine plywood. It was cheaper than similar-sized other types, and it was a lot of plys too - at least 7-ply, if not 9 (I didn't look too closely). The finish was pretty nice as well. Based on a cursory look, it didn't seem to have any holes or empty spaces inside. It did look a lot like the much more expensive baltic birch ply I used before, except for the price.

My question is, what's the catch? Is it in any way inferior to other kinds of plywood? Is it less strong?

Mike Cutler
08-13-2013, 5:05 AM
It all depends on what it's intended use is.

There are about a zillion, it seems, standards and grades of plywood out there. If selected for the proper application all is well, but there is some real garbage out there also. Generally anything sourced from China sold in the big box stores has a notorious reputation for instability. It seems that trend may be reversing as I've seen mostly ply sourced from Canada lately in the big box stores.
All things being equal, a softwood plywood will not be as strong as a hardwood plywood if they are made the same. Again though, how strong does it need to be.