PDA

View Full Version : What's your saw sharpening setup?

Steve Voigt
08-10-2013, 3:05 PM
I thought it would be good to start a thread that would encourage, not discourage, people from sharpening their saws. So, what's your setup? Pics would be great if you have them.
I'm still a relative novice at saw sharpening, but here's my gear. Saw vise:

268252 268253

Guides:

268254 268255

I haven't used the protractor type of fleam guide. Would love to know if people prefer that, and any other ideas you have.

-Steve

Federico Mena Quintero
08-14-2013, 12:19 AM
My setup is pretty much exactly like yours, Steve. Are the notches on the caul so that saw handles will fit better? Anyway, that's a great idea.

I had fleam lines drawn with a fat marker on my workbench. They disappeared with the latest flattening of the bench :)

Derek Cohen
08-14-2013, 2:22 AM
I have a recent arrival, a Disston 3D.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Sharpening/Saw%20Sharpening/SawVice-Disston3-1_zpsf4adc312.jpg

It is in excellent condition, but I have spent a little time tuning it. The iron internal faces were filed to remove high points, and then suede leather was glued on ...

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Sharpening/Saw%20Sharpening/SawVice-Disston3-2_zpsf132bb22.jpg

There is no no vibration when filing ..

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Sharpening/Saw%20Sharpening/SawVice-Disston3-3_zpsb42bf7f9.jpg

Incidentally, there are fittings on the top for what looks like a file guide ... yes? Anyone have photos of what is meant for there?

Regards from Perth

Derek

Hilton Ralphs
08-14-2013, 7:00 AM
Incidentally, there are fittings on the top for what looks like a file guide ... yes? Anyone have photos of what is meant for there?

Like this?

Jim Matthews
08-14-2013, 7:09 AM
You mob have better eyesight than I.

Where's your gigantic magnifying glass?
Where are the extra lights?