PDA

View Full Version : Resawing Yew (unsuccessfully)

Mitchell Garnett
08-08-2013, 12:39 PM
I'm a resaw noobie. While I've successfully resawn a few species, I'm having a horrible time with a Yew log: it requires an unsafe amount of force through the blade so I've stopped pending advice.

I'm using a Grizzly G0514X2 with a 1" Lenox 3tpi carbide blade and I'm pretty certain the tension is correct. The blade hasn't been used much and looks sharp.

Is Yew a tough wood to slice? Or am I overlooking something?

FYI - I did an Internet search about Yew so I'm aware of the toxicity.

thanks for advice.

Mitch

Erik Loza
08-08-2013, 12:46 PM
How green is the wood?

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Mitchell Garnett
08-08-2013, 2:31 PM
3 to 4 months since it was cut. This is my first time with fairly green wood tho this log seems drier than green wood I've turned

Erik Loza
08-08-2013, 2:39 PM
3 to 4 months since it was cut. This is my first time with fairly green wood tho this log seems drier than green wood I've turned

Without being there firsthand, it is hard to say but in my experience, carbide blades are the wrong blade to use on any wood that is still even vaguely wet. In fact, I actually snapped a brand new 1.0" Tri-master while trying to resaw a green burl of ash, once. The issue is that due to the flat kerf design of the blade, it is not as effective at removing wet sawdust as opposed a typical skip-tooth blade, and the carbide essentially clogs and slows your feed rate way down, putting a ton of heat into the blade in the process. The Woodmaster CT would probably not suffer from this as much as the Tri-master but they both will. I really recommend that carbides be saved for kiln-dried lumber or at least wood that has been in storage for a while. Again, I am not there but that is one of the first things I ask about whenever someone is having preformance issues with a carbide that is properly tensioned. Hope this helps,

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Richard Coers