PDA

View Full Version : Windows 8 /Anti-Virus

Sean Troy
08-05-2013, 11:03 PM
Hey all, we have a Windows 8 computer that came with Norton and from what I understand, Windows 8 systems come with Windows Defender. Do I need both? Thanks, Sean

Jerome Stanek
08-06-2013, 7:16 AM
I hate Norton slows the system down

George Bokros
08-06-2013, 10:08 AM
Put your trust in Norton. Windows XP SVC Pk 3 had Defender and I would not trust it. I am running both XP and Windows 7 and use nothing but Norton, trust the best.

George

Jerome Stanek
08-06-2013, 10:56 AM
I have been running defender for a few years now and it works very well. Norton is bloatware anymore and is almost as bad as a virus. My daughter and her boy friend are both IT techs for large companies and will not ever recommend Norton.

Larry Browning
08-06-2013, 11:31 AM
As you probably found out from previous posts, opinions about AV software is all over the place! Here is mine:
Norton has in the past had the deserved reputation of being a resource hog. I think they have addressed that pretty well. There are however several free or low cost alternatives that work just as well or even better than Norton. Windows defender does work but is really provides a minimum level of protection. For the average user I believe Norton is a bit of overkill while Windows Defender is "underkill". Have a look at AVG or AVAST antivirus. Both get very high ratings, both have a very complete free version as well as a reasonably priced paid version. I would suggest one of those. (I have used AVAST for years)
Here is a link to a review of several free AV programs which include both AVG and AVAST as well as others.
http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-anti-virus-software.htm

BTW: You should run only one AV program because they tend to work against each other and can cause all sorts of problems.