PDA

View Full Version : Question on how epilog and trotec handle files of raster images

Ben Dalton
08-05-2013, 10:18 PM
This is my first time posting, so I hope this is an acceptable subject... I'm looking into a new laser to replace my GCC Explorer 2, 40 watt machine. I'm leaning toward an Epilog Fusion, a Trotec Speedy 400, or a GCC Spirit GLS (all with at least 60 watts). I like what I've seen and what's been posted here on SMC about the trotecs and epilogs. I just had a question on how files are handled by trotec and epilog software. Let's say I have a 12" by 12" tile or wood piece, but it only needs 4" by 4" engraving in the middle. I can lay out the file for a full 12" by 12", put the 4" by 4" image where I want it in the space, and when I send it to my GCC machine, it automatically takes out all the blank space in the file, and only moves over the 4" by 4" image when it is actually engraving. Do the epilogs and trotecs handle files the same way? I hope I described my question well enough.

Mark Sipes
08-05-2013, 11:43 PM
Sure Create a 4 x 4 tile and center it in the 12 x 12 area , put it in the ur, ul, lr, lr any where on the table it only see the 4 x 4. Hey, create 9 different 4 x 4 s and engrave them all on the 12 x 12 tile, or duplicate the one and engrave 9 4 x 4 of the same image.........very flexible..

Ben Dalton
08-06-2013, 12:18 AM