PDA

View Full Version : LV Perfect Handle style chisels

Michael Ray Smith
07-31-2013, 11:02 AM
I looked to see if someone has already pointed this out and didn't see anything, but I'm sorry if I missed something. A week or two ago (maybe a little longer) there was a thread about the old H.D. Smith "Perfect Handle" design. I just noticed that Rob has a set of perfect handle-style chisels shown in on the new woodworking products page.

Jessica Pierce-LaRose
07-31-2013, 11:19 AM
The first thing that strikes me is the blades being 440 stainless steel. (http://www.leevalley.com/us/wood/page.aspx?p=70784&cat=51&ap=1) I've no really knowledge of this sort of thing, it only strikes me as interesting because I don't think I've seen that choice in a chisel blade material. Don't expect LV to pick something horribly unsuited for the purpose of the tool, but no idea what that choice of material means in practice.

Jim Koepke
07-31-2013, 12:11 PM
If you look at the hardness specs between these and their Veritas bench chisels you will see these may be a bit on the soft side.

Stainless steels do not seem to take an edge or retain it as well as carbon steel or the newer tool steels.

Most likely these would be fine for someone doing construction where a chisel comes in handy at times and it will be hit with a hammer.

My recollection is that is why some mechanics used to like the Perfect Handle screwdrivers for rusted screws.

One of my seldom used chisels is a Crescent brand all steel chisel. It was marketing was directed toward plumbers, electricians and others in the construction trades.

jtk

george wilson
07-31-2013, 12:14 PM