PDA

View Full Version : Jointer / planer question

Scott Cenicola
07-25-2013, 9:38 PM
So, in a previous post I told the creek about my recent reclaimed lumbef purchase. This could produce a new tool in the shop, as I am considering a planer purchase. I have always bought s4s lumber, and never owned a jointer or planer. I do some light jointing on my router table and it seems to work for me.

So now I'm hunting through cl and come upon Craftsman Professional 1-1/2 hp 6-1/8''Jointer/Planer - $425.
http://tampa.craigslist.org/pnl/tls/3904831046.html

I haven't even researched if it's a good value yet, because I'm not sure of it's capabilities. The question i have is if it's a 6-1/8", can i plane any board under 6" and eliminate the need for two machines? I don't think I will have the need to plane boards over 6" in the immediate future, so i can save on money and space.

Kind of an embarrising question, but I have no experience in this area. Thanks

Myk Rian
07-25-2013, 9:51 PM
It's a jointer, and not a planer.
You'll still need 2 machines, or a real combo jointer/planer.
Jet 6" jointers go for about $300.

Gordon Eyre
07-25-2013, 10:02 PM
A jointer will flatten one side of the board and a planer will dimension the thickness while following the flatness of the jointed side.

Mark Carlson
07-25-2013, 10:36 PM
I know Craftsman called it a Jointer/Planer but its a Jointer and not a combo machine. It will flatten a face or an edge of a board but wont dimension like a planer will. If you goto youtube and type "how to square lumber" you will find a good series on how to mill lumber using, a jointer, planer and tablesaw.

$425 seems steep for that machine by a lot.

~mark

Jim Matthews
07-26-2013, 6:37 AM
Check your area for a woodworking co-op.

The purchase of a planer or jointer, or both for a one time project is not cost effective.
Start with an established vendor, and ask if someone would mill lumber for you.