PDA

View Full Version : Reclaimed wood score or am i a sucker?

Scott Cenicola
07-24-2013, 5:09 PM
267167267168Hi all, first time posting. I have been reading the forums for a few months, and have learned a ton!

I made what I hope is a nice cl purchase today. 20 - 1 x 4 x 12' and 6 - 2 x 6 x 8' reclaimed pine boards for $1 each. I've never worked with reclaimed wood before but always wanted to. I plan on making some end tables, coffee table, shelves etc. I currently use pine a lot due to cost and that I don't get to upset if i make a cutting error.

So here are my questions:

Good score, right? I would have paid almost 200 for whitewood at hd. Definitely a value, if i can make it good usable wood.

How do i dry it? I just got done cutting 1" strips of plywood. I hosed off all the bugs and mud. I plan to stack it in the garage to dry out. I am concerned with humidity because i live in Tampa, but normally the garage isn't too bad. I keep fans running all the time.

I didn't mention that the 1 x 4 is rough cut. I will need to rent a planer to remove the top layers and size it all. I will joint them on my router table. I'm also trying to rationalize that the money I saved and the cost of rental may justify a planer purchase. If this project works out , I would like to look for more reclaimed deals. Any recommendation on a low end planer would be appreciated.

I assume i should purchase a moisture meter and possibly a metal detector?

Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

George Bokros
07-24-2013, 6:03 PM
Metal detector is a must. I use one with all my rough lumber and with reclaimed it would be mandatory for me.

George

Roy Harding
07-24-2013, 7:27 PM
Metal detector is a must. I use one with all my rough lumber and with reclaimed it would be mandatory for me.

George

Abso-freakin'-lutely.

Other than that - make sure you clean it up well before jointing/planing - dirt and grit will chew up your jointer/planer knives quicker than you would believe.