PDA

View Full Version : Dovetail saw sharpening services?

David Kuzdrall
07-23-2013, 8:27 PM
I am just beginning my journey in saw sharpening and am not in the position to learn on my Wenzloff dovetail saw...I have other saws for learning but I am just not there yet (haven't even started actually; my files just arrived today and I need to make a vise over the weekend)

I have been using a local fellow who has done great work for me in the past on larger saws but to make a long story short, this one (early Kenyon by wenzloff) has caused trouble. This was the first sharpening of the saw and when I got it back it cut curves to the left, I brought it back and the problem is said to minimized but still exists. I got a full refund but am still left with a premium saw that does not make premium cuts anymore (before the work was done it cut perfectly straight, and yes I know how to use a dovetail saw)

I know that due to workload and other priorities some of the top saw filers come and go, so who are regarded as the best of their trade and accepting new work with reasonable turnaround times (i.e. not Wenzloff)?

hopefully this is the last sharpening that I will have to outsource...

thx

David Barnett
07-23-2013, 8:34 PM
Just do it, David. It's filed rip, no? Seriously, try it and only send it out if you fail. lt's a nice saw but you won't ruin it. Practice your cross-cut filing if you must, but you don't send out chisel and plane blades. I'm not trying to be flip, but really, it's no big deal. You'll know that after you've done it.

David Kuzdrall
07-23-2013, 8:39 PM
Just do it, David. It's filed rip, no? Seriously, try it and only send it out if you fail. lt's a nice saw but you won't ruin it. Practice your cross-cut filing if you must, but you don't send out chisel and plane blades. I'm not trying to be flip, but really, it's no big deal. You'll know that after you've done it.

I hear you but to be clear, I have never sent out a plane iron or chisel for sharpening.