PDA

View Full Version : Ripping by hand and expectations

Patrick Harper
07-23-2013, 5:22 PM
So, I finally finished sharpening a D-8 4 tpi rip saw and decided to take it for a test drive. I put it to use on a 18" long 2x4 and it took me almost exactly 3 minutes for everything. It was definitely cutting straighter/ faster than before, but I just don't know if I could do better. Keep in mind, at I'm a total beginner. So, are there any tests you use to determine whether a saw is cutting quickly enough?

Jim Koepke
07-23-2013, 6:22 PM
Patrick,

Welcome to the Creek. Your location is not indicated in your profile. You may live close to another member who may be willing to help in person with your sawing questions.

I found a big toothed rip saw a bit to demanding for myself and have settled on one with 6 ppi. It takes me about 15 minutes to rip a 10' 4/4 piece of ash. With experience you will find yourself working a bit faster.

So, are there any tests you use to determine whether a saw is cutting quickly enough?

This is also a matter of experience. You will feel the saw is tending to roll over the wood instead of cutting into the wood. You will also see a change in the saw dust. A sharp rip saw will tend to make saw dust looking like tiny curls.

jtk

Patrick Harper
07-23-2013, 6:35 PM
Jim, thanks a lot for the quick response. I've updated my profile. I'm going to go make another cut and check the dust.

ray hampton
07-23-2013, 6:42 PM
Patrick did not say what species of wood it was that he rip

Patrick Harper
07-23-2013, 6:56 PM
Ray, it was white pine, construction lumber.

Patrick Harper
07-23-2013, 7:32 PM
Now, I have another related question. Where is the best source for Grobet Swiss made files? I purchased my first from Lee Valley, and it's about used up. Is there anywhere I can buy them by the box?

ray hampton
07-23-2013, 7:59 PM
Ray, it was white pine, construction lumber.

Is this white pine on the heavy and hard side for pine ?

Sam Stephens