PDA

View Full Version : New mortiser: grizzly or general?

Jim Barstow
07-19-2013, 10:23 PM
I just finished making 48 mortises with my old delta desktop mortiser and decided it's time to upgrade. I'm trying to decide between
2 floorstanding machines: the general 75-075 and the grizzly GO448. The general gets really good reviews but I can't find any of the G0448. (The are reviews of grizzly's older floor standing machine and they weren't very good). The G0448 looks to be completely different from the old floor standing machine.

I have 3 grizzly machines (15" planer, 12" jointer, and 17" bandsaw) and have been quite pleased with them. (I am an amateur but since I retired this year my backlog of projects has increased exponentially with requests from people who know I have more time.) I'd like to go with the grizzly even though it is more expensive but I'm reluctant to by a machine that is an unknown versus one that is known to be good.

Anyone have any experience with the G0448?

Stephen Cherry
07-19-2013, 10:59 PM
Jim- the first thing to consider is the size of the hole. The machines you mentioned in my opinion are good up to about 3/8, but will take some work. If you want to easily make big square holes, I think that a larger machine would be in order. As for brand, I have some Grizzlers also, and think that they are fine.

Ken Fitzgerald
07-19-2013, 11:05 PM
Jim,

I learned in my initial experience using a mortise that the sharpening tools are as important as the mortise. To get trouble free mortises regardless of the brand and model you pick, the hollow chisel and bit must be sharp....sharp....sharp.

From WoodCraft and Rockler I bought a mortise chisel reamer and a set of diamond hones. 2 sets......one each ......from each business. You ream the edge then hone it with a diamond hone.
I use a flat jewelers file to sharpen the drill bit.