PDA

View Full Version : An Introduction

Scott Crumpton
05-23-2005, 10:47 PM
I’m not all that great at introductions, particularly of myself. I’ve been reading the forums here for quite awhile, but this is only my second posting. I’ve been woodworking for several years and just recently got a lathe. John Hart’s Turning Blank Excursion prompted me to sign up so that I could contact him. So, at his suggestion, here are a couple of pictures of my first turnings. I hope I've attached the images correctly.

The bowel is my first. I think I made just about every mistake short of creating a funnel, but salvaged it in the end. The wood is Southern Red Oak from a limb crotch. I removed the limb about 3 weeks earlier and had just left the cut sections on the ground. I got lucky with the spalting and the figure. The rough-out warped badly and thus the very thin edge on the right.

The second picture shows two sets of tools, the handles on the left are some of my first spindle turnings. The wood is well seasoned Hickory. The tools on the right are a $15 set that I was given. The bowel and tool handles were done with this set. Some of them are now bent. :D

The last picture is of the lathe itself. I’m including it because some of you might find the mobile base interesting. One of my workshop rules is: If I can’t lift it, it’s got to have wheels. No exceptions. You could say that the base was my first lathe project. It’s 110 pounds of steal with around 230 pounds of concrete. The lathe is bolted to the base. I’ve noticed some vibration traceable to the wheels with off round blanks, but the solution is really simple. Lift the ends with a crowbar and set the corners on blocks. Problem solved. And it sure was nice of Jet to drill and tap those holes on the headstock. ;)

Well, that’s about it. I’m looking forward to participating.

---Scott.

Raymond Overman
05-23-2005, 10:56 PM
Welcome to the Creek...