PDA

View Full Version : Tool and finish advice

Chip Byrd
07-11-2013, 9:15 PM
Hello,

I am relatively new to woodworking and have spent the past couple months building a work bench, mitre station, and various jigs and furniture for my garage shop. This has been a really informative site. I have a couple questions and would appreciate any help:

1) I want to trim out my miter station with cedar (largely because I have it). I am looking for a finish that is relatively easy and will maintain the natural color.

2) I have a table saw, router and router table, miter saw and station, small cyclone and vac, and most of the expected hand tools. I am only going to be able to afford one more $400-500 tool this year and wold like advice. If possible, I plan to build a bed this fall. So, which of these would you suggest:

Bandsaw
Drill press and sander combo
Thickness planer
Jointer

Thanks,
Chip

Frederick Skelly
07-11-2013, 10:04 PM
Welcome! Yes, this really is a great site. Youll learn a lot here. I can only answer your questions based on what Id do myself. Dont know if theres an absolute right answer.

1) I use a water based "polyurethane" when I dont want a color change. It can be a bummer to apply on nice furniture (dries too quickly) but its always fine on things for the garage that dont have to be as perfect.

2) Id buy a drill press next. But that assumes you can buy wood thats already planed to the thickness youll need from a nearby source (lumber yard that does millwork, etc). If you cant, you might want to go with the planer.

Those are just my thoughts and preferences. Should be interesting to hear what everyone else thinks.

Good luck!
Fred

Aleks Hunter
07-11-2013, 11:27 PM
Hi Chip and welcome.
I wish there had been forums like this 40 years ago!
One thing is certain if you get ten responses , there could be twelve opinions.