PDA

View Full Version : Converting PDF to EPS, "stepped" curves result

David Ford
07-10-2013, 12:28 PM
Hi,

First off, my apologies for not attaching the file(s) in question. I tried but they are over the Creek Forum size limit and I don't have an image reducing program handy.

I have a potential job to engrave a logo onto cedar for a home builder. The file supplied is in PDF format, created with Adobe, simple B&W, and looks fine, all curves being smooth. To manipulate it with Corel X3 I converted it into an EPS file. Once converted the resulting image shows all curves as having "stepped" edges. The image size is approximately 2"x4" and when I blow it up to the required size of ~6"x12" the "steps" are obvious to the point that they can be seen from 10' away on the sample piece.

Can anyone guide me through a process which will eliminate the "stepped" look on the curves? Any/all assistance is appreciated and, yes, I'm a newb.

Cheers,
Dave

Dave Sheldrake
07-10-2013, 1:06 PM
Hi Dave,

It depends if the source file was a vector drawing or a raster drawing?

If you want to mail it over I don't mind doing the conversion for you? (I'll also mail back an explanation of how it was done) curves can be smoothed out using AutoCAD or similar but corel draw isn't a particularly good CAD package to be honest, it does a lot of things reasonably well but almost nothing very well.

best wishes

Dave

matthew knott
07-10-2013, 2:44 PM