PDA

View Full Version : Tool Handle Questions

Dan Case LR
07-09-2013, 11:21 PM
My first project with my new 1221vs will be turning a few handles for my lathe tools. I have a couple of newbie questions.

I've read that most any hardwood can be used for tool handles. I'll probably use something fairly cheap like ash or oak, just because I expect to turn a few pieces that belong in the firewood pile. My question is: are any varieties that as a beginner I should avoid? Anything that's the "perfect" wood for new turners to train on?

I know that handle length is a very subjective thing. Where should I start? Are there any "standards?" Things to avoid?

Thanks!

D.

Robert McGowen
07-09-2013, 11:43 PM
Most people start out trying to turn the handle and then drill the hole for the tool. Drill the hole for the tool, then put the nose cone of the tail stock in the hole and turn the handle. That way, your hole will be exactly centered and ready to go when you finish turning the handle. YMMV

Roy Turbett
07-09-2013, 11:54 PM
Most people start out trying to turn the handle and then drill the hole for the tool. Drill the hole for the tool, then put the nose cone of the tail stock in the hole and turn the handle. That way, your hole will be exactly centered and ready to go when you finish turning the handle. YMMV

I use this same method and use copper plumbing couplings for ferrules. I like the design of Sorby tool handles and pattern mine after them.

Michelle Rich
07-10-2013, 6:27 AM
no, there is no perfect wood. Use what you have. A small grained wood (cherry, walnut or even poplar) will make a smoother handle than oak, which can be chippy. But no matter what you use, have fun & go make handles

Thom Sturgill
07-10-2013, 7:23 AM