PDA

View Full Version : How did you get so many clamps?

Keith Kelly
06-26-2013, 2:20 PM
When looking at woodworking articles & videos about gluing a series of boards together, there are typically an enormous amount of clamps used, like this one: http://amzn.com/B000FA0BMW

I'm relatively new to woodworking, and am ready to start gluing, so I guess I'd better stock up on some clamps. Is there a certain brand or store you'd recommend buying clamps from? Or, any advice for a beginner regarding clamp planning?

(I have a very nice set of other tools, so I don't really want to go HF on the clamps unless those happen to be very good. It looks like clamps will be an expensive purchase, so I'd love some insight from you guys)

Lee Schierer
06-26-2013, 2:28 PM
You never have too many clamps. Some folks go only for Bessys and other higher priced clamps and some use pipe clamps and some even get their clamps from Harbor Freight. Both get the job done and no one asks when the job is done what brand of clamps you used.

Bruce Page
06-26-2013, 2:39 PM
Most of my clamps came as X-mas & birthday gifts from my children – after I told them what I wanted.;) I’m fond of the Bessey & Quick Clamps.

Mark Bolton
06-26-2013, 2:39 PM
To me a lot depends on the type of work you do and then a lot more depends on your other source of income ;). This is my source of income, and considering some of the clamp racks you see from parallel addicts could cost 1-2K if your going to really set yourself up with clamps you'd better get your checkbook out.

I would imagine most people start with a few, then a project comes along where you need 2 more, then another where you need 4 more, you stumble across a good sale or auction and acquire a few more, and so on. Its one of those items where if you happen to see a good deal your better off grabbing it.