PDA

View Full Version : Workbench Overhang

Ennis O 'Neal
06-25-2013, 7:00 PM
I'm just getting started in woodworking and this is my first post. At this point I don't have the tools to make a true woodworking bench. My new bench must serve multiple functions so it is will be a kind oh hybrid. I plan to install a front vise later. The base is kind cool. It is made of 4x4 and 2x3 steel tubing that I had powder coated. The base is 80" w x 26" d x 34"h. I have attached a photo. I am mounting a 96" x 30" butcher block top. I plant to mount the top so that my overhangs are 13" left, 3" right and 2" front and rear. Are my overhangs adequate to allow for clamping, etc.?

Kev Coleman
06-25-2013, 7:13 PM
Depending on your clamps though, 2 inches might be a little shallow. Also you might think about drilling 3/4 inch holes in the top and getting some holdfasts. I think you will use those more than clamps on the edge of the workbench.

On the top, I am not sure what the tabs are for but if you are planning to screw the top onto the base in each of those holes, make sure the holes are elongated to allow for movement or that might cause some problems.

Prashun Patel
06-25-2013, 7:23 PM
Plan out our dog holes and make sure they dont hit the base.

Settle on your front vise hardware and measure for clearance before committing to overhang and dimensions.

Ennis O 'Neal
06-25-2013, 7:27 PM
Thanks for the comments. The vise I'm planning needs 12" clearance. The tabs are mounting and the holes are indeed elongated to allow for wood movement. The dog holes will definitely require planning.

bobby milam
06-25-2013, 9:33 PM
The overhangs sound good to me. I made the mistake of making the front of my glue up bench flush because I just like it that way but I wish I had given myself about 2" for clamping. I still have the sides and back when I need them to clamp. All of the clamps that I use right now, 2" gives them plenty of bite. That powder coat is pretty.

John McClanahan