PDA

View Full Version : Welding I bought a torch

Lee Alkureishi
06-12-2013, 8:31 PM
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to metalworking/welding in general, and recently realized a cutting torch would make my life a lot easier. So, I've been scouring CL for a decent deal, and today I bought a torch. Wanted to check with the experts to make sure everything is a-ok before I go any further.

The kit I bought is an oxygen tank (4' tall), acetylene tank (3' tall) - both part filled, 15' of tubing (red/green coordinated), 2 regulators (models RC250-80-540 and 260t-15-510), a welding torch (WH26TFC), cutting torch (CA-25T) and the mobile cart. I paid $160, which is a good bit less than I've seen similar go for. I have a few questions, though.

- There is no brand name on any of the parts, except the regulators which say "Proline" on the bezel. They look like Victor parts, though, and searching for the model numbers only brings up results for Victor. Searching for Proline doesn't turn up much. Are these likely to be Victor, or a cheap knock off with the same model numbers? Did I get lucky?

- How do I figure out what the capacity of these gas tanks is? It doesn't say anywhere on them, though I think they're considered the "big" ones by the height.

- Can I just take the whole lot to a local welding supply shop and ask them to inspect it / make sure it's not going to explode?

- There was no proof of ownership on the gas bottles, or certification stickers on them. The guy I bought them from got them second hand in Miami, and has had them 3 years but never refilled them (didn't use it much). Will that be a problem if/when I try to refill them? I've seen conflicting reports...

Thanks in advance! Excited to start cutting with this thing, but want to do it right :) May also try my hand at welding with it, but for now I'll probably stick with my little lincoln flux-core bugger...

Lee

Wayne Crider
06-12-2013, 9:21 PM