PDA

View Full Version : Need a Mortise Chisel

Tony Wilkins
06-08-2013, 1:19 PM
My next project (small shaker table) needs a 1/4" mortise chisel. I had planned to get one of the Ray Iles pig stickers, but they seem to always be out of stock. I've thought about Japanese chisels off and on but I'd like to stay all imperial in sizes. Not sure about the steel or my 'restoration skills' with a vintage. So far as I know that leaves me with Lie-nielsen.

Help me think this out more.

Dave Pugh
06-08-2013, 1:30 PM
I am very new to the Neanderthal way, but I have been practicing making mortises with a set of Sorby mortise chisels. I have the 1/4", 3/8", and 1/2". I bought them at the local Woodcraft store. I have always heard good things about Sorby lathe chisels, so I figured their other tools should be ok.

Lloyd Robins
06-08-2013, 1:37 PM
Hirsch and Narex would probably have the same problem as the Japanese chisels - nonimperial. I did just rehab a couple of chisels for a graduation present with the help of a turner friend. it was fun, so it is something to talk about. That said, I really like my Lie-Nielsen 1/4" mortise chisel. It should serve you well.

Roy Lindberry
06-08-2013, 2:31 PM
My next project (small shaker table) needs a 1/4" mortise chisel. I had planned to get one of the Ray Iles pig stickers, but they seem to always be out of stock. I've thought about Japanese chisels off and on but I'd like to stay all imperial in sizes. Not sure about the steel or my 'restoration skills' with a vintage. So far as I know that leaves me with Lie-nielsen.

I'm not trying to discourage you here, but I have found my bench chisels to be quite adequate for mortises, particularly those 1/2" and under. I have a set of Narex mortise chisels, that I think are good for the money (but they are not Imperial), but they don't really get used.