PDA

View Full Version : New Old Lathe.... how did I do....

Wilson Revelle
06-04-2013, 1:46 AM
Ok... so I am kinda new to all this.. in fact 6 months ago if you asked me to cut a piece of pine I would have told you to go see someone else. I was so scared of wood that it saw me coming and said "HA!!! He is gonna have to come back and buy another piece." Well..... In a fit of crazy, and as a way to help fight my medical condition, I decided to no longer fear wood. Anyway to make a long story shorter, 6 months ago I had a circular saw... today I have: Circular,2 Band, Table, 2 Scroll, 2 Reciprocating, Jig saws a BUNCH of Sand paper, stains, paints, Table Belt Sander and a plethora of other wood tools.... and now have added the LATHE! well... I got the lathe and 8 lathe tools, Duplicator and 21 pieces, varying sizes, of hard wood (oak, Maple, I think, Mahogany and some other wood I cant ID) for $180. The tools are Craftsman and in ok shape. I already had an 8 piece set from Harbor Freight. I was playing with a Mini Lathe that I got from... Harbor Freight... but when I found out that the chuck was not going to be available for the Mini until August, I took it back and purchased this one off Craig's List. I guess I got three questions that are bugging me: