PDA

View Full Version : Milling - why can't you plane the first board face?

Scott Casko
06-01-2013, 2:08 PM
Hey folks,

I apologize in advance - total NOOB question here. I'm just starting into woodworking, and my question is about milling.

Everywhere I read and watch, people say to flatten one face on a joiner, and then either plane the other face flat or join an edge. My question is why can't you flatten the first face on a thickness planer?

My only thinking on that is because my mobile planer (Delta 22-540 I picked up used) has the cutting head floating over a fixed base. Is that why - because the cutting head floats, as opposed to the fixed cutting head of a joiner? I don't see that, if you were to feed the board in "frowning", with two planar points of contact, how it's any different than on the joiner.

I'm hoping for a good technical explanation here, so I can finally put my mind to ease.

Thanks all,

Scott

Matt Day
06-01-2013, 2:15 PM
Because though in small lengths the board may be flat, it will likely be waves over he entire length. Think about it in an extreme way - what if your board was 1/2" at one area, 3/4" in another, and back to 1/2".

a jointer makes it flat and complainer, and a planer simply references off the opposite face.

Trust us, you need a jointer! :-)

John TenEyck
06-01-2013, 2:45 PM
That's right, a planer will press the wood down so that it is flat on the bed plate. Whatever variations there are on the bottom side of the board will be reproduced on the top surface after planing. If you are able to buy really flat wood then you can plane them w/o much problem. Most of us, however, get wood that has twists, cups, and bows in it. To make those boards flat you need to use a jointer or hand plane, or you can build a sled for your planer that will support the bottom of the board so that the top surface will indeed be flat after planing. In the end, a jointer is the most efficient way of accomplishing the process.

John

Scott Casko