PDA

View Full Version : Carbide blade for Bandsaw

Rick Fisher
05-29-2013, 9:07 PM
I ran a Lenox Tri-Master for almost 3 years. Some of you will remember that Laguna had a $75.00 sale a few years back. I bought one of those for a spare..

The Tri-Master became dull .. So I turfed it and put the Laguna blade on the saw.. About 3 weeks later.. I trashed the Laguna blade.. Destroyed it. My fault..

So I've been looking for another Carbide blade.. I'm running my spare " 3/4" bi-metal blade which has been hanging on the wall for years.. Its not as good.. :o

A new Tri-Master is $300 shipped.. Then I noticed a Woodmaster CT .. Its about $175.00 ( I think my blade is 178" ) .. I want a 1" x 1.5 - 3 Teeth per inch ..

What are ya'll using ? Anyone used the Woodmaster CT ? What else is there ? I checked laguna .. $1.73 an inch ? I would go Tri-Master first..

Andrew Hughes
05-29-2013, 9:32 PM
I have one Rick its a good blade when I bought my B 20/20 from Jesse I got a deal on the woodmaster blade.I like regular Olsen blades for both my bandsaws.I really think they come back from the sharpening service better than new and if I tweak one its not so bad on my wallet.
I keep the woodmaster coiled up ready for the next red cedar build.I think mine is 177 long close to yours.

Mike Wilkins
05-30-2013, 8:45 AM
I have used the Woodslicer from Highland Hardware before. Really good blade for the money. I also found a couple of Starrett blades that just happened to be the correct length for my saw at a used tool store that were new in box. Suprisingly very sharp and clean cutting. You can purchase Starrett blade stock if you make your own, or find a sharpening service that makes bandsaw blades and ask for Starrett.

Mikail Khan
05-30-2013, 9:46 AM
I use a trimaster most of the time. It works well is spite of losing some teeth when a tire come loose. I also have a $75 laguna as a backup.

MK

Chris Padilla
05-30-2013, 12:33 PM