PDA

View Full Version : Are 2" wide face frames too wide?

Rich Engelhardt
05-25-2013, 9:06 AM
The plans I have for making a 36" cabinet call for a 2" wide face frame.
I'm thinking that's a bit on the wide side and would look odd.

If I alter the width and make them 1.75" instead am I going to run into problems with the drawers and the full overlay doors?

peter gagliardi
05-25-2013, 9:10 AM
Depends, if just flat stock, then yes too wide. If ,on the other hand your doing beaded face frames, 2" is my standard go to size. Also, on the flat you should factor in if there is any overlay, and how it impacts the look. On flat face frames I have been using 1 1/2" stock for 20-25 years and it works well.
Peter

Don Jarvie
05-25-2013, 9:22 AM
Also figure out what type of hinges you are going to use. If your using ones that wrap around the face frame they come different sizes depending on how much overlap you are planning for.

This sounds trivial but important once the cabinet is built and the hinges you bought wont work.

Alan Bienlein
05-25-2013, 9:29 AM
Here is a picture of a cabinet I built with 2" face frame stock.

glenn bradley
05-25-2013, 10:26 AM
These are 36" wide, 2" frame on the left, 1-3/4" frame on the right:

SketchUp is your friend.

Jeff Duncan
05-25-2013, 11:35 AM
Go with what you like the look of. To me 2" is too wide, especially if it's flat, not to mention if your doing full overlay it does not really provide any real benefit. In actuality it only uses more wood while making the cabinet less useful!

I use different size stiles for different projects but for inset my typical is 1-1/2" for the verticals, with wider on the horizontals.

good luck,
JeffD

Rick Potter
05-25-2013, 12:06 PM
I always use 2" face frames, unless it is going to be a small cabinet. The overlay doors will reduce the visual size anyway. My raised panel doors are usually 2 3/8", which when used with cope and stick cutters makes the visual width 2".

Rick Potter