PDA

View Full Version : breaking the rules?

Jeff Bartley
05-22-2013, 8:53 AM
Here's the scenario: I acquired a pile of mahogany which was salvaged from a kitchen built in the seventies. It's funny to me that they used mahogany on these cabinets, they were not well made. Anyways, here's the question----I've built a shed and need to trim out the windows, build doors, window frames. Would it be a gross misuse of material to use mahogany on a shed?? Bear in mind this wood has nail holes, etc.
Originally I planned to use white oak salvaged from pallets but this mahogany is likely to be much, much more stable than anything I could get from pallets!
Anyone here use mahogany outdoors? I have little experience working mahogany for all the different work I've done. Thanks! Jeff

Steve Milito
05-22-2013, 9:08 AM
Would it be a gross misuse of material to use mahogany on a shed?? Bear in mind this wood has nail holes, etc.

No more so than using salvaged brick to build an outhouse. :p

david brum
05-22-2013, 9:10 AM
I know someone with a '70s era house with painted mahogany siding. Of course it isn't real mahongany like you'd see in fine furniture. It looks more like Luan or Meranti, some sort of Philippine hardwood which somewhat resembles mahogany. The stuff is full of natural toxins ( just get the dust on your skin!) and seems to hold up fine for outdoor use, kind of like cedar.

Those kitchen cabinets are probably made of similar stuff. I'd vote for using it. Just be careful when you cut it, as the dust really is nasty.

Keith Outten
05-22-2013, 9:19 AM