PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on my laser choice predicament

Michele Kaiser
05-20-2013, 10:37 PM
I'm a laser newbie and I've been wanting to invest in an entry-level laser for the last year and a half. I do vector illustrations and would love to create acrylic jewelry and accessories out of them. It has also been a dream of mine, and now I'm ready to take the plunge. :)

I want to cut and engrave 3mm acrylics and might also consider cutting and engraving 3mm plywood. Since these will be mostly for jewelry/accessories, some cut and engraved parts will be very small.
I live in a place where the laser choices are very few (either GCC Laserpro or Universal). I had to pick something between these two, because of the local support.

I've done my research and also exchanged a few talks with a Sales Rep for GCC Laserpro.
I've considered something between 30 and 40 watts. I've narrowed down my choice between the Venus II and C180.
Here's the confusing part (price-wise):
Venus II (30 watts, 11.8 x 8.2 in) - $14k
C180 (30 watts, 18 x 12 in) - $16.5K
C180 (40 watts, 18 x 12 in) - $20,625
Mercury III (40 watts, 25 x 18 in) - $20k

The 40-watt C180 costs $625 more than the 40-watt Mercury III.
I love that the C180 is small and compact but if it costs more than the Mercury which has a bigger work area, it might make more sense to buy the Mercury instead. But the thing is, my work area is in a basement that is only accessible through a narrow set of U-shaped stairs. I'm worried that forcibly carrying the big laser machine down there might do some damage to it. And there will be a time when I have to move out again, hence carrying it back up again.

My plan is:
I could buy something smaller in both price and size, like the C180 30 watts.
When business is doing good and I've reached my planned milestones, I can buy something bigger and more powerful to meet more demands.
I'm also afraid the Venus work area might be too small, and only good if you do more engraving?