PDA

View Full Version : Gorilla vs Penn State...

Derek Arita
05-17-2005, 9:34 PM
OK. I had to ask, if it hasn't already been asked. The Penn State 2hp cyclone has a 14" impeller. The Gorilla has a 2 hp with a 13.5" impeller. I know I'm no expert, but both DCs have a 2hp motor and as we have all read, all things being equal, impeller size makes the difference...or does it? Tell me why the Gorilla sucks more or why it does not. Please speak in layman's terms. I'm no expert.

mike malone
05-17-2005, 9:55 PM
this link may help:

http://www.oneida-air.com/pressroom.htm

The oneida 2hp commercial is pretty much the same as Gorilla.
there are stats there for the bigger grizzly (2004)
what is surprising are the stats for the Woodsucker (don't know if that is the newer model, tho)

mike

Jim Becker
05-17-2005, 9:59 PM
Look at some of the other specs...and the December 2003 Review in WOOD Magazine. (Use the Oneida 2hp Commercial system in that article for comparison as the Gorilla is essentially identical in performance...just a different color and filter) PSI uses the same blower for both the 2hp and 3hp systems...nothing is optimized; just bolted together. In fact, in the above mentioned test, the unit performed pretty mediocre other than at very high SP...a place you don't want to be with a DC system, anyway. (They tested the 3hp version, too, although not officially, and found it's performance the same as the 2hp machine) The blower outlet is 6"...Gorilla is 8". Inlets are 6" for the red machine and 7" for the yellow. The fan in the Gorilla is a customer designed and balanced cast unit and the same one that's in the 2hp Commercial I have in my shop. I honestly think that the new Grizzly units would be a better choice than the PSI systems...hopefully, at least...especially when the "old" Grizzly beat the pants off the red machine.