PDA

View Full Version : Going Pro

Brian Ashton
05-19-2013, 6:09 PM
I started a thread asking the question as to whether those making a real living off of woodwork were self taught or had taken an intensive course before hand... I think I called it: A question for the pros

The question came about from what I've seen from a few decades in woodwork so the results weren't surprising but I wanted to see if my observations had any merit...

To start with I make a distinction between furniture making and the traditional trade name of cabinet maker. I've been both and in todays world a cabinet maker is for the most part someone that builds particle board boxes and slaps mass produced style and rail doors on the front. Furniture maker is someone that has to work almost exclusively with solid wood and has to during the process employ a reasonable amount of hand tools (other than a drill, RO sander...). Yes their are exceptions to this - there's always exceptions to everything except the laws of physics. But! apparently there's exceptions to those as well.

You see a great deal of courses offered, most at pretty rich prices with real lavish descriptions, that promise to give budding woodworkers the "tools" necessary to open their own shop or work for some other high end out fit. But the reality is the vast majority of people making any sort of reasonable living at woodwork are self taught. And the irony of many of those setting up these programs is the path they're espousing isn't how they got their start but for some reason they say it's a necessity...