PDA

View Full Version : BS resaw issues...

Michael Dunn
05-17-2013, 9:31 PM
I was trying to resaw through 7" of Poplar with my Rikon 10-340. I was using a 3/4" Timber Wolf blade. I believe that I've tensioned it as they prescribe. I used the slower speed setting. I varied my feed rate to observe the performance. Everything was worse than everything. Nothing worked right.

I either stalled the motor or didn't have enough blade or belt tension. I put a V-Twist belt right before the cut.

Any tips? I'm new to this saw and resawing.

Please help...

David Kumm
05-17-2013, 9:51 PM
Blade speed should be 4000 fpm or greater. Tension the blade to the point the wheel needs two hands to turn and make sure the spring isn't bottomed out. When you say V twist are talking about a link belt? Should not use a link but a regular v or VX belt. Dave

Peter Aeschliman
05-17-2013, 9:57 PM
Michael,

I had a TW blade on my saw and was having tons of problems with wandering and super rough cuts. I spent tons of time try to adjust my saw.

On the recimmendation of fellow creekers, I tried a lenox die-master II. With no other adjustments to the saw, I suddenly had great resaw results.

I'll never buy a TW blade again. I know some love them, but I had a very poor experience.

It seems to me that bad blades are the most common cause of problems on the bandsaw.

Phil Thien
05-17-2013, 10:30 PM
Ditch the TW blade.

Don't use the flutter mention for tensioning, use the scale on the saw.

Michael Dunn
05-17-2013, 11:19 PM
Ditch the TW blade.

So should I tension the 3/4" blade to the 3/4" scale? I know that may sound stupid, but I've always been told that the scales are pretty much worthless.

I guess I'll return the TW. do you like the Wood Slicer blades?

Michael Dunn
05-17-2013, 11:21 PM