PDA

View Full Version : Building an entry door (many questions)

mreza Salav
05-10-2013, 3:38 PM
We are in planing stages of building a house and I am thinking (dreaming?) of doing some of the work myself, including kitchen cabinets and possibly trim work.
One wild cat in here is building a wooden entry door (possibly double door). First, I am a fairly experienced hobbyist woodworker with a reasonably well set of tools/machines (cabinet saw, 14 J/P, large router table, shaper, drum sander, and other tools).
Here are a few of the things I have made in the past:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?83398-My-latest-project&highlight=
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?136618-Cherry-chest-of-drawers&highlight=
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?133526-A-crib-for-the-first-baby&highlight=

I have built cabinets, furniture, etc. I usually research a lot before starting a thing so that I know what is involved and what not, but there are many factors in building an exterior door that I may not be familiar with. The builders here recommend against a wooden door in our climate (here in Alberta, Canada, with extreme cold). I have looked at many threads here as well as wealth of knowledge on woodweb.

It appears the best way of constructing them is stave core (instead of solid wood) where the stave is made out of pine or alder with finger joint pieces that are then face-glued. It's a time consuming process but I'm willing to do if that's the best way of doing it.
The house is facing east and the door will be setting back in a porch about 6' or so and won't be exposed to rain/water (at least not much) and the sun isn't an afternoon sun. The door will be 2.25" with raised panels. The width of the entry is about 10' so it could easily fit a double door or a wide single door with fixed sides. I haven't decided on how many panels or whether I want arch at the top or the easier rectangular look but here are some samples similar to what we have in mind: