PDA

View Full Version : OH!-Hishi, my first water stones

Peter Pedisich
05-10-2013, 12:18 AM
Please keep in mind my sharpening so far has been using a man made oil stone (combination stone from hardware store), sandpaper on granite, and diamond film on granite. I am new to water stones, and cannot make any comparisons to some of the high-end stones sold by others, just letting interested folks know about my experience with the Ohishi from Lie-Nielsen.

After just a couple of years of peeling and cleaning the granite after wearing out or gouging sandpaper I realized this was not for me, even though the results were excellent - especially the amazing but costly diamond film from Lee-Valley. I wanted a simpler and more long-lived method, so I called Lie-Nielsen and purchased the 1k, 3k, and 8k stones before they were on the site last fall, and just got around to making the stone holder/angle setter platform from the L-N site.

After flattening the stones with my DMT plate (8k needed a good 3-4 minutes of work on a slight crown in middle, 3k and 1k were essentially perfect) I went straight to work on the stock iron from my Sargent-made Craftsman No. 6. I just needed to touch up the micro-bevel, and it took fewer strokes than sandpaper for sure, seemed much faster. I think once I can dedicate a work area where mist from a spray bottle makes no matter I'll be much more efficient at touching up a blade and getting back to work.

here are the results on a piece of 3/4" poplar... pillow-fluffy shavings:

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-ep5QLtmVTmM/UYxscCXwAoI/AAAAAAAAB5k/h98IKGCIJyc/s800/IMG_8247.JPG

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-s1JcWo2gS1o/UYxsXDtAifI/AAAAAAAAB5k/Rzjj_4DIwbQ/s800/IMG_8245.JPG

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-wRxtkeqLyno/UYxsU3KawdI/AAAAAAAAB5k/Ll0KKgavAqg/s800/IMG_8250.JPG

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-7hl_hnKXTiM/UYxsa6mA7RI/AAAAAAAAB5k/tR6cMzIKMqk/s800/IMG_8253.JPG