PDA

View Full Version : New Rikon 10-340... Fence upgrade?

Michael Dunn
05-06-2013, 5:14 PM
Drift Master is out of the question at $400

Grizzly's 19" resaw fence and rail may work. I have their 14" resaw fence and like it. However my 10-340's blade goes through the front of the table as opposed to the right side like the G0514 that this fence is designed for.

Any thoughts? The fence is the weakest aspect of the Rikon. I do plan to do some resawing. Nothing very hardcore though.

Michael Dunn
05-06-2013, 8:19 PM
Ok. So I'm still new to this saw, not to mention I've been driving for over 15 hours with another 3-1/2 to go. I just looked at my 10-340's stock rail. It has to be removed to change the blade. So I can most definitely use he 19" Grizzly fence. I'll have to use some Aluminum angle to mount it in a way that allows for quick blade changes.

Problem solved.

Thanx Mike! No... Thank YOU!

Jim Tabor
05-06-2013, 8:41 PM
Mike,
Before you replace the fence, why not order a 142" X3/4" Wood Slicer resaw blade from Highland Woodworking ( that's what I use on my 10-345) and follow the included detailed instructions on setting up the saw for resawing? You may not need a new fence at all. You sound excited about you're new saw and may be getting the cart before the horse. Good luck.

Michael Dunn
05-06-2013, 8:55 PM
Mike,
Before you replace the fence, why not order a 142" X3/4" Wood Slicer resaw blade from Highland Woodworking ( that's what I use on my 10-345) and follow the included detailed instructions on setting up the saw for resawing? You may not need a new fence at all. You sound excited about you're new saw and may be getting the cart before the horse. Good luck.