PDA

View Full Version : Hi! Help with DC position

Pete Rowley
05-16-2005, 12:38 AM
Hi, I am a novice woodworker who recently joined SMC after "lurking" a while. After a couple of years busy with babies (2 in fast succession!) I am getting back on track for woodworking. Soon I am going to actually get a dedicated shop, 12 feet by 20 feet in a detached shed building that will be built as part of our backyard landscaping - for me this is an unexpected dream shop outcome after having been a nuisance tenant in our double garage, sharing space with washers and dryers and gas water tanks and such. In anticipation of that I have just ordered the Oneida Dust Gorilla to secure the introductory price after reading rave reviews on SMC - Thanks :)

I have attached a rough drawing of the planned layout for the shop (not to scale). The Table saw, drill press, jointer, and planar are machines I already own, the bandsaw is the planned next purchase down the road, and the workbench was my second project, the first was to build the saw horses so I could build the bench :) After playing with a to scale drawing with little machine cut outs I "think" I have a good layout for everything, I am just uncertain about where to put the DC. I have read Bill Pentz' web site and some tips I have read here (4 ft straight stretch from blower before any turns) and I guess I am realizing I am into compromises. I'd like to have a straight run up the middle of the shop at the roof apex and branch from it to the various machine areas (using 6" S&D pipe). I plan to see how much noise the DC generates and closet it in if its too loud for what I do and my personal noise tolerance.