PDA

View Full Version : Please Help With Setup Laser Pro Mercury Laser Engraver

derek noyes
05-04-2013, 2:37 PM
I am brand new to the Sawmill Creek community and looking for a warm welcome. I recently purchased a used Laser Pro Mercury Laser Engraver in immaculate condition. all the paperwork and software is complete. it was purchased in December 2004 by a couple who used it to personalize dog tags.

The problem i am having is setting it up. the machine has 2 ports on the front (parallel and serial). my compaq desktop computer has neither, just usb ports. i purchased parrellel to usb adapter, made the connections, went through steps to add a printer, installed the drivers and tried unsuccessfully to print a file. it crashes the software and the print manager says error.

the instructions have me setting up the printer on the LPT1 port. it seems to me that this may be the problem. i did go to the printer i set up, clicked properties, changed the port to usb printer support, clicked apply and tried again with the same result.

i did notice there are drivers on the setup disk for usb to serial but did not attempt to load at this point.

i am so lost at the moment. if anyone has detailed walkthru instructions on how to set this engraver up through usb, i would be so appreciative. thank you in advance for your consideration.

cheers,
derek
UPDATE: i have combed through alot of post and found members with similar problems. it appears the more i read, the more questions i have!:)

It appears i have several options and now wondering which is best:

1) install a LPT port card and eliminate adapters.
2) parallel to usb adapter (this is the method i tried and failed)
3) serial to usb adapter
4) wifi