PDA

View Full Version : New to engraving

Phillip Bogle
04-27-2013, 11:27 PM
I have 20+ years experience in graphic arts and I am fairly adept at CorelDraw X6 (I have been using CorelDarw for several years). I am about to sign for an Epilog Helix 50 watt.
I know the Epilog is well advertised and they have been around for some time. What I am asking this group -- is what are the pitfalls with this brand or company? Is the Epilog Helix 50 watt a good choice for some one starting out in the laser end of engraving.
I live in a tourist area, and we get requests for trinkets (mementos from our area) and no one is filling this product need.
Are the laser engraved products pretty well received or are their objections to the process? I have not sold engraving before so I am not sure what someone will say negative.
What words of caution or advice can you give a new entrant?

Phil Bogle
Tillamook County Oregon

Joe Pelonio
04-28-2013, 9:13 AM
I have always been happy with the Epilog Service, they only real negative is the price and later the price of parts when the warranty is up. For me it's been worth it for the quality of the product. Mine is now 8 years old, and I have replaced the tube twice and the X motor, otherwise it's been fine. Your only problem selling laser items is if you take a booth at a higher-end art fair. You will see hand made items with signs that say "Hand Crafted, not Laser." Those artists resent that you can make what they do a lot faster and sell at a lower price.

Ross Moshinsky
04-28-2013, 9:32 AM
I think you should look at Trotec, Epilog, and Universal. Trotec is arguably the best machine of the bunch. If you go to a trade show, you can save thousands on either machine.