PDA

View Full Version : Fountain Pen Kits

Jonathan Clement
04-27-2013, 6:44 AM
I'm relatively new at turning pens but I think I have gotten the process down. My wife and I made a bunch as gifts for the holidays and they were well received. A contractor was at the house recently to deliver a contract for some work we are having done and saw a couple of our pens. He asked if he could buy some for gifts. He was interested in fountain pens as well as ballpoint pens and pencils. My question is how reliable the fountain pen kits are and if they are easy for a customer to refill. Also, are there any recommendations about kits to get. So far we have been dealing with PSI and Craft Supplies USA.

William Adams
04-27-2013, 7:12 AM
The IPG (Iridium Point Germany) nib pens I've seen are quite nice (I use fountain pens).

Be sure to provide instructions, esp. re: the need to rinse it out each time it runs dry.

Jim Burr
04-27-2013, 12:08 PM
The nibs on the kits from CSUSA and PSI are made in China and are not very good quality. They can be replaced though! Another thought, try Marksman kits...Google them. They use Bock nibs and are very nice kits! I have used CSUSA kits for years, no complaints ever...just the nibs aren't that great. If you use the cartridge type refill...very easy for anyone to change, just like changing a rollerball refill. Hoope that helps...also head to IAP...best forum around for pens and other stuff!

Bernie Weishapl
04-28-2013, 10:26 AM
Ditto what Jim said. Have had the same experience with CSUSA but still good kits with no problems.

Dan Forman
04-28-2013, 1:34 PM