PDA

View Full Version : Point me in the right direction

James Kane JR
04-21-2013, 8:38 AM
New member to the forums here, and really just asking if someone can point me to the right place on the forum.

I'm an Army Officer living in a military town with a couple of overpriced shops that do custom engraving and framing for awards, mementos, etc.

Looking to get either an engraver or a CNC machine to make plaques, signs, awards, unit mementos, etc and possibly run things out of my garage.

As a frequent customer of these places I know that there is a demand for these things that far out-strips the supply. The local shops are poorly run, charge exhorbitant prices, and generally give customers the attitude that they will do work when and how they feel like it. People are looking for other options, but in our town there just aren't any.

Want some perspective on what it would take to start a part-time business like this and what kind of equipment I should be looking at. I'm sure the forums here have already covered topics like this, and I would appreciate if someone who's been on here longer could point me to the right places to look.

Thanks,
Jim

Dee Gallo
04-21-2013, 9:26 AM
Welcome to the Creek, James, you are in the right place! My best advice is to spend time reading the posts here starting from #1 - you will see discussions on everything from the tech end to the creative edges to the business side and everything in between.

We have a few members here who deal with the military all the time, so maybe some of them will chime in to give their two cents. There have been posts dealing directly with military-related topics such as where to find logos, challenge coin displays, regulations when dealing with bases, trophy examples, memorials and so on. You can search specific topics using the "advanced search" box on the top right of this page.

cheers, dee

Ross Moshinsky
04-21-2013, 10:55 AM