PDA

View Full Version : Color engraving on Titanium

Scott Weinstein
04-15-2013, 1:48 PM
Alright... I am intrigued!

This is a pretty cool concept. Has anyone out there scene this before?

http://www.eddystonedesigns.com

Joe Hillmann
04-15-2013, 2:21 PM
They are using a yag or fiber laser. Different colors are different power settings. I have never done titanium before but on a piece of polished stainless I can get a whole range of colors, browns, blues, tans and yellows. Although I have never got red before.

Edit: A few months back we had a discussion about this and if I remember correctly Bruce Boone did some testing on a piece of titanium and put up pictures of the range of colors he got.

John Salitsky
04-16-2013, 9:31 AM
Petty cool! I think titanium is pretty pricey though.

Joe Hillmann
04-16-2013, 11:33 AM
Petty cool! I think titanium is pretty pricey though.

I was thinking the same thing and wondering how they can sell the bottle openers for that price with the engraving. I am thinking it may actually be titanium nitride. If you look it up it comes in many many colors depending on how hot it was heated which would make it great for laser coloring.

Brian R Cain
04-16-2013, 12:07 PM
They are using a yag or fiber laser. Different colors are different power settings. I have never done titanium before but on a piece of polished stainless I can get a whole range of colors, browns, blues, tans and yellows. Although I have never got red before.