PDA

View Full Version : I need experience

Timothy Powell
04-13-2013, 6:02 PM
Hello folks. My name is Tim and I am new to woodworking. I have watched many woodworking shows and read many woodworking magazines. The trouble is that I live in an apartment and I have nowhere to put large power tools. I am looking to get some hands on experience and was wondering if anyone on here lives in the central Illinois region. I would love it if someone could help show me the ropes. If you have a business, I can work for free on the weekends. Feel free to send me a PM if you don't want to make your location public.

Erik Loza
04-13-2013, 6:04 PM
Classes at the local Woodcraft?

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Timothy Powell
04-13-2013, 6:10 PM
Unfortunately the nearest Woodcraft is 250 miles away. I would defiantly like to take some of their classes, but 250 miles is just too far away.

Bill ThompsonNM
04-13-2013, 6:49 PM
1. Add your location to your profile, notice how mine appears in the upper left.
2. I googled "woodworking clubs Central Illinois". Lots of hits including the Central Illinois Woodworking Club. Bet you can find a club that meets nearby. Woodworkers are usually very friendly and would love to share their shop with you.

Timothy Powell
04-13-2013, 6:57 PM
Thanks Bill.

John TenEyck
04-13-2013, 8:14 PM
You don't need large power tools to be a wood worker. Long ago, journeymen wood workers traveled from town to town with nothing more than what they could carry in a sack on their back. It's a slower process, to be sure, but there are still many people who work almost exclusively with hand tools and make beautiful furniture. Some, like you, are stuck in an apartment, but they don't let that stop them.

John

paul cottingham
04-13-2013, 8:41 PM
Do some reading about Jim Tolpin or Tom Fidgen. They are both basically hand tool woodworkers and I know Fidgen spent some time (a lot of time?) working in an apartment.

Wade Lippman
04-13-2013, 8:57 PM