PDA

View Full Version : Mills and Drills Question on Milling machines

don wilwol
04-12-2013, 9:10 PM
I'm not going to go as far as saying I'm new to metal work, but I've started taking it to a new height. Building the infill planes is a lot of fun, but it would be so much more enjoyable if I started gathering some more advance metal working machines. That said, this is a hobby, so cost is an issue. I also don't want to just throw good money after bad. Is something like this http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200419823_200419823 of any value, or do I need to look harder into Craigs List.

ray hampton
04-12-2013, 10:44 PM
this mill is light duty[noticed the round column ] but I think that it will work with non-ferrous metal or plastic-wood

Dave Bonde
04-14-2013, 8:27 PM
Based on my experiences you would be disappointed in that unit or would quickly outgrow its capabilities at best. To be fair I have never seen the unit you are looking at in person just basing my opinion on using other equipment. If you could find a Bridgeport Series 1 or similar used vertical mill you will be much happier IMHO.

Bruce Page
04-14-2013, 9:39 PM
Don, it would be fine for drilling holes and light machining of aluminum & plastics. You will be disappointed if you intend on milling your infill planes out of steel. As Ray points out, a round column is not stout enough for anything other than very light surface milling in steel.

David Wong
04-15-2013, 3:23 AM
Here are a few of websites you can look at for more info:

http://www.mini-lathe.com/Mini_mill/Main/mini-mill.htm
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=2064290
http://www.hobby-machinist.com/forum.php
http://www.chaski.com/homemachinist/viewforum.php?f=38&sid=f3101e23db56100967881059513c60be
http://www.littlemachineshop.com
http://www.hossmachine.info