PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE tell me that there is another way!

Harold Burrell
04-09-2013, 9:55 AM
I'm building a roubo style workbench. I've got the top glued up. About 24 X 72. Made out of pine...5 1/2" thick (as of now). My plan is to flatten it with a router. However, I am also considering flattening it with hand planes. It is just that I have never done any dimensioning by hand before and I do not know as I want to "practice" on this.

I can just see myself working it down from 5 1/2" to 1 1/4" by the time I get it right. :eek:

Anyway...none of that is the problem.

What IS the problem is this...I need to cut off the ends and square them up. Is there any other way to do it other than a hand saw??? I don't trust my hand sawing ability AT ALL. As with the thicknessing, my fear is to end up with a 2' long table by the time I'm done. I don't mind telling you...it scares the CRAP out of me.

Not to mention, that I am a tad lazy...

And...well...it doesn't end there. What about the dog holes? 3/4" holes with a brace??? Again...:eek:

Zach Dillinger
04-09-2013, 9:59 AM
You could use a circular saw to clean up the ends... if you must :)

And I've heard that a 3/4" spiral upcut router bit in a plunge router will make short work of those dog holes.

If it were me, I'd get down my one-man 4 foot long crosscut saw and have those ends trimmed right quick :)

And don't worry if the ends aren't completely square. The ends on my bench aren't perfect... my workpieces do not know the difference!

mike holden
04-09-2013, 10:07 AM
You can use a circular saw, cutting from top and bottom, or rent one of the 12 inch blade circular saws. Frankly, I would rather use a handsaw. It is a class three cut, knife the line and chisel (by hand, not hammer) a small trench (approx 1/32 deep) to guide the handsaw.