PDA

View Full Version : Need new Router for table

Matthew Curtis
04-08-2013, 6:08 PM
I recently burnt my PC router up that was in my table. What are some decent affordable replacement for me? I am just a hobbyist woodworker. I do use my router table a good amout when I am working in the shop.

Dale Coons
04-08-2013, 6:15 PM
PC routers are pretty good. You didn't say what you burned up--if a 690 (1.75hp), you could go to a 892(2.25hp) or 7519 (3.25hp), but the 7519 or the milwaukee/triton other brand equivalents have a different hole mount than the 690/892's.

Matthew Curtis
04-08-2013, 7:51 PM
It was an 890. Are the 890 and 892 motors interchangeable with the bases?

David L Morse
04-08-2013, 8:15 PM
Hold old is that 890?

http://www.cpsc.gov/en/Recalls/2006/CPSC-Porter-Cable-Announce-Recall-to-Repair-Routers/

Note that the failure is motor winding insulation.

Curt Harms
04-09-2013, 7:22 AM
I recently burnt my PC router up that was in my table. What are some decent affordable replacement for me? I am just a hobbyist woodworker. I do use my router table a good amout when I am working in the shop.

IMO this fellow creeker is offering a sweet deal for a table router. I have its predecessor, FT2000E and it works very well in a table. I had to add a RouterRaizer to get above-the-table height adjustment.
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?201045-Freud-3000-Plunge-Router-and-Incra-Plate

Andrew Kertesz (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/member.php?61217-Andrew-Kertesz)
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/images/statusicon/user-offline.png Contributor

Join DateFeb 2010LocationToledo, OHPosts414

Freud 3000 Plunge Router and Incra Plate