PDA

View Full Version : Another wooden boat inspection (pics)

Kent Parker
05-11-2005, 9:22 PM
I haven't seen much mention in the Saw Creek on wooden boats so I thought I treat you all to one I just inspected. Inspecting pleasure and commercial boats is what I do for a living and for the past 18 years I've been called a marine surveyor.

It becomes a pleasure and an honor to be able to crawl through a well maintained and crafted vessel knowing of the time, the engineering and patience it take to create it. Hovering in every corner is the oara (spelling?) of someones dream. Sometimes you just have to pause to ponder it.

This is one of the nicer wood boats left here in the SF bay. Unfortunately many of the beauties that I gawked at and dreamed over as a kid are becoming fewer and fewer as they get older and the pace of life is such that the average boat owner has no time or desire to take care of a wooden boat. She's about 58' long and was built in 1935. Rebuilt in 86. The blue in the photos (most of it) is masking tape due to the boat being varnished.

Enjoy :)

KP

Corey Hallagan
05-11-2005, 9:43 PM
Wow, that is sweet, thanks for the photos. I take it that is mahogany, isn't that what they use in most boats? It looks well cared for.

Corey

Alan Turner
05-12-2005, 4:52 AM
Very impressive. I would think that by the time you got through with the varninshing, it would be just about time to start over, varnishing again.

John Bailey
05-12-2005, 9:07 AM
Kent,

Would like to see many more of the wood boats you survey. Looks like a William Atkin design, sort of a long version of an "Ingrid." Interesting placement of the anchor. I would think that would be a drag during time where the boat is heeled much. Great boat and lots of woodwork to keep up.

John

Scott Banbury
05-12-2005, 10:08 AM
Kent,