PDA

View Full Version : What do you think?

Peter Blair
04-03-2013, 7:13 PM
I'm thinking of volunteering my time to do an all day turning demo at my grandson(s) elementary school. The staff think it would be great but I have never done anything like this before and wonder if it is actually a good idea or not. I have a Rikkon mini that is mostly portable and can either plug into school power or use my small Honda Generator so I feel confident that the set up will work but I have a few questions:
My idea is to set up outside (of course this will be weather permitting) and allow the school to decide when and for how long each grade or class should have to watch.
1. Do I need a plastic screen between me and the students? I have never had anything (except curlies and shavings)fly off my lathe unless I was doing some delicate hollowing but wouldn't want any of the little darlings to get something in an eye.
2. How much detail as far as describing what I am doing would be needed? Or do I just spin some wood between centres and let the little ones ask questions?
3. If I bring 4 or 5 gouges and a couple of skews along with a few carbide tools, will that be enough or will I need to bring a sharpening station as well?
4. If anyone has had any experience with this sort of thing should I actually make a few items ( tops or ??) during the Demo or would it just be better to demonstrate some of the things a lathe can do ie. spindle and small bowls, etc?
5. As a first time demonstrator, I am not sure if it would it be wise to have some sort of 'Plan' or just spin some wood and see where it goes?
6. I will be turning on blacktop, near a playground that has wood chips as it's base. Would you suggest that I set up on a tarp or maybe just sweep the shavings in to the playground at the end of the Demo?
Any suggestions are really appreciated.

Kyle Iwamoto
04-03-2013, 7:57 PM
Bless you for volunteering!