PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions about glue blocks and sanding

Tom Porter
03-30-2013, 6:30 PM
I'm still pretty new to turning and have two somewhat unrelated questions. As background, I'm turning green wood from start to finish. I don't have a bowl chuck so sometimes I turn the whole bowl using a faceplate and leave an extra long tenon to account for the screws and sometimes I turn the outside of the bowl with the faceplate on the bowl interior, reverse it and use a glue block to turn the interior. I've been pretty happy with my results; there is certainly room for improvement but I'm learning a lot.

First question, is there any tricks to centering the piece on the glue block (or the glue block on the faceplate) to reduce the amount of work I need to do to bring it back to round? Or is having to true it up again pretty much a cost of doing it this way?

Second question, as one would expect with green would, a fair amount of warping occurs. Typically I turn a piece to about 1/4" or so and let it dry on the lathe for a few hours or overnight just to allow the surface to dry enough to facilitate easier sanding. Even this short dry can make the bowl a bit out of round. When I sand it, I get sections that don't sand as well. Is this a result of the sand paper hydroplaning spots essentially "lower" due to the bowl being out of round? Is there any way to alleviate this or am I stuck with hand sanding those portions? If I bagged the bowl while still on the lathe for the pre-sanding dry, would it still dry enough to sand but limit warping? (I bag them after sanding).

Any thoughts?

charlie knighton
03-30-2013, 7:42 PM
Tom,

tricks to centering the piece on the glue block

you might start the blank between centers, that is the revolving center and the drive center, just to extablish the center