PDA

View Full Version : How do I postscript fill this design in Coreldraw?

John Bion
03-29-2013, 1:07 PM
Hi, I hope this post is in the correct place, I'm not sure if it should be in the CD 'tips'? Moderators, please move if necisary.
I am a CorelDraw novice and am lost for what is probably a simple solution.
How do I use the postscript fills (fish scale) in a celtic type drawing done in coreldraw, I attach my somewhat pathetic drawing. I can only get it to fill original enclosed shapes and not the shapes I have on this design. 258472
Thanks in advance.
Regards, John

PS: I forgot to mention that I am using Corel Draw X6

Mike Chance in Iowa
03-29-2013, 1:46 PM
John, You have made a good start. Depending upon which version of Corel you are using, you may or may not have some tools available to you. If you zoom in on your drawing, you will see there are some gaps in the lines. This will create problems when trying to fill. Because of the curves, you will want to add the fish scale in different sections so you can change the direction of the scale. The easiest method will be to use the SmartFill tool to create a new section that you can then add the postscript fill into. But... until you close the gaps in your graphic, you will find the SmartFill tool will not work as well as you want it to. :-)

Jacob Peacock
03-29-2013, 1:51 PM
I'm not sure why but I can't seem to open your file. My suggestion is to make sure your path is a closed path.My guess is your path is still open somewhere you can't see and the fill won't show up until you close it.

To close it, just click on the object and click the close curve button (for me it is two buttons to the left of the outline width rolldown box) in the Property Bar near the top.

EDIT: It looks like Mike could open your file and it seems the problem is a bit more complicated and my solution won't be of much use for ya.

John Bion
03-29-2013, 3:29 PM