PDA

View Full Version : First timer building a workbench

Daniel Stevens
03-27-2013, 12:08 PM
Not only is it my first time building a workbench, it is my first time doing any type of woodworking period... But I wanted to make a workbench for electronics work so I need your help! The reason I want to build rather than buy is because it would be cheaper, the dimensions would be what I want, and it should be fun. So let's get to the questions... I am thinking about going to Lowes and getting 2x10x8 SYP boards (four of them) for the top. I was just going to put them side by side. First question, would gluing the sides of the wood together be strong enough? I have seen most people using like 20 boards and gluing the widths of the board together to create a thicker top... but I don't want it to be that heavy and I don't want to buy all that wood. (Should I just screw the boards to the frame?) Secondly, there will be small grooves where the boards will meet... If I do smooth it out, will the top get too thin? Or since it is just electronics work, maybe leaving the grooves would be fine?

I guess those were the two main questions; gluing the boards and smoothing the top... What I am making seems to be nothing more than a table. I don't want any storage or anything fancy since I am on a limited budget. It would also just be for inside use so are there any recommendations for coating/sealing the workbench. Like I said, I have no experience so anything helps! I am sure I will have more questions to come.

Stephen Cherry
03-27-2013, 12:21 PM
If I were making a utility bench, I would look first to craigslist materials for a used commercial door, section of bowling alley, reclaimed lumber, etc. I have big, super flat commercial doors that I paid 5 dollars for. They would make a superior utility bench top.

Next up would be a premade top
http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/50086416/

There is plenty of work to be done in the legs.

Terry Beadle
03-27-2013, 12:29 PM